The Daylight Award directs focus at the interface between architecture and research - and places great emphasis on the interaction of theory and practice.


VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and the VELUX STIFTUNG, three philanthropic​ foundations established by Villum Kann Rasmussen, present the Daylight Award of €100,000 to each laureate.

Previous laureates:

  • Jørn Utzon (DK) (1980)
  • Henning Larsen (DK) (1987)
  • Richard Perez (USA) (2008)
  • James Carpenter (USA) (2010)
  • Lacaton & Vassal (F) (2011)
  • Marilyne Andersen (CH) (2016)
  • Steven Holl (USA) (2016)
  • Hiroshi Sambuichi (2018)
  • ​Greg Ward (2018)
  • Russell Foster (2020)
  • Henry Plummer (2020)
  • Juha Leiviskä (2020)

The Daylight Award is presented as two awards 

The Daylight Award for Research is presented to an individual or a group of scientists for their outstanding contribution to international daylight research. The award has particular focus on interdisciplinarity and research in human well-being and opportunities for linking theory to practice.

The Daylight Award for Architecture is presented to an individual or a group of architects who have excelled at creating architecture or urban spaces that demonstrates a unique use of daylight with particular focus on architecture that takes into account quality of life and impact on human health and well-being, and the value for its immediate environments.

The Daylight Award Jury
  • Koen Steemers (Chair), (UK) Professor of Sustainable Design, The Martin Centre for Architectural and Urban Studies, Department of Architecture, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • Anne Lacaton (FR), Principal of Lacaton & Vassal Architectes, based in Paris, France
  • Dorte Mandrup (DK), Creative Director & Founder of Dorte Mandrup A/S
  • Marilyne Andersen (CH), Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies at EPFL (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, EPFL) and Co-Founder of OCULIGHT dynamics Sàrl.
  • Gerd Folkers (CH), Professor for Science Studies at the ETHZ Zurich
  • Russell Foster (UK), Director of the Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology and Head of the Sleep and Circadian Neuroscience Institute at the University of Oxford
  • Juhani Pallasmaa (FI), Finnish architect, writer, teacher and practicing architect who has lectured extensively across the world for more than 40 years.
Previous laureates 
The laureates 2022: Grafton Architects and Anna Wirz-Justice

The 2020 laureates: 

Juha Leiviskä recieves The Daylight Award in architecture and Russell Foster recieves The Daylight Award in reserach while Henry Plummer recieves a special Lifetime Achievement Award.

The laureates 2018: 
Hiroshi Sambuichi og Greg Ward

The laureates 2016: Marilyne Andersen and Steven Holl